Talking about reading and then practicing it!

Today we talked about what a good reader does when they read. I learned that many of my students do something that I tend to do, we “visualize” the story as we read. I call it “make a movie in my head”. Some students actually put themselves IN the book as the main character.
We also talked about the importance of asking questions, making predictions and connecting (using background knowledge) with our reading.
What do we do when we find a book that really isn’t “just right”? We agreed to give it a chance, read the first chapter if not the first 75 pages and then make up our minds about the book.
I’m looking forward to reading more books with this group of readers!

1 Response so far »

  1. 1

    Mary Stevens said,

    I am a major reader and even though I haven’t liked some books I have only put down two books uncompleted in my life. There is usually some redeeming quality in all literature.


Comment RSS · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

